rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















unfit for human consumption
December 28, 2005,

I managed to get everything on my list done last night, and even managed to take a couple of minutes and root out something to read.

I went for a couple of Ruth Rendell paperbacks that I haven�t read in so long, I�d forgotten �whodunit�. Anyway, her skill makes re-reading worthwhile, even if you do remember. I grabbed Inspector Wexford books, because I�m just not up to her darker endeavors. Not that Wexford books are sunshine and lollipops, but they are easier to digest than some of her stuff.



Spouse didn�t get the job he was interviewing for; they notified him yesterday. It went to a �more suitable candidate�. Presumably one who was younger, and not morbidly obese or half-blind.

If he is serious about getting a first-class job, he really needs to do something about some of that. He can�t make himself younger, exactly, but if he took off some weight, maybe he wouldn�t move like a 70-year-old. And he�d by gum better get his eyes attended to this year�it�s the last time he�s going to have even halfway-decent insurance. If I was in charge of hiring, I wouldn�t want to take a chance on somebody that looks like a walking heart attack or stroke, either.

I�m in the process of trying to figure out how to get this across to him without sounding evil. He won�t do it for my sake�he won�t do it for his own sake�maybe I can appeal to his bottom line, and get him to do it for his job�s sake.



Speaking of work�one of the lovely incidental side effects of not having a real boss is frequent communications breakdowns. For example: Apparently, there are all kinds of special holiday events going on in our division right now. Jeans days, pizza lunches, contests with prizes, etc.

Yeah. First I heard of it, too. Apparently my AVP boss sent it to the mailing list of directors under her, with instructions to disseminate the info to their staff, along with a schedule of events.

And since A) I am not a director, and B) report directly to her, I didn�t get the notification from anyone. (When I noticed a bunch of people wearing jeans, I asked how they rated. That�s how I found out.)

I�m getting damned sick of feeling like a phucking orphan around there.



I really don�t think I�m fit to be around people today. I�m having a bit of trouble coping with human interaction.



Reading: �Shake Hands Forever�, by Ruth Rendell

Listening: XM, 70s on 7. Al Stewart, Stevie Wonder.

Beading: DNA spiral necklace in #11 seeds�dark amber with a carnival glass-type finish.

One Year Ago, I One Year Ago, I was recapping my trip.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com