rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















brass monkeys beware
December 20, 2005,

I am suffering from a most terrible attack of attention deficit and boredom today. Nothing engages me�well, except the thought of crawling into bed and closing my eyes. So it�s possible that I�m just freakin� tired. I did manage, for two consecutive nights, to stay awake till it was actually bedtime. I guess I need those extra two hours I�ve been getting recently, because I�m like a zombie today.

Plus, it�s the week before Christmas, I got left to myself at work today, and I�m totally burned out on this frigging project�and it�s cold, and it�s dark, and it�s winter�I think I�m part bear.



They left to myself part at work today? SRCW had to call in a sick day, because her offspring are crapping and puking all over the place. So it was just lil ole me in the office.

Although D stopped by to see everyone and wish us a Merry Christmas. She brought me a giftie, and also some stuff for Spouse and Raji. I wish we could just hang out, but I�m so busy, she�s so busy�the question is always when.

I got to show her the little bracelet I did for SRCW, though, which made me feel great...I think D is the beading audience in my head. Every time I make something, I want to show it to her. So when I finished the other day, I almost cried that I couldn�t bring it to work and show her.
The cold part? The average temp here for the last few has been in the single digits, and the wind chill well below zero. Just another fucking day in paradise. Did I ever mention the winter-hating thing with me? In the words of Lt Col Henry Blake��Better keep the brass monkeys in tonight!�



The staying awake till bedtime part? Actually, I was on my way to a pretty little pre-bed nap last night, when the phone rang. At 9:20pm? WTF?! It was W, calling to let me know that she and T will be gone for a few days. Seems they�re going to New Jersey, just to catch a couple of concerts by some American Idol also-ran that they have a thing for. I can�t remember his name, but he looks like �and special guest star Gary Sinise, as Jesus Christ�.

To each his own.

She also called to tell me the following woeful and unfortunate things that have befallen them recently:
T�s mom managed to have a simultaneous heart attack and stroke, W�s brake lines ruptured when she was on her way to work and she almost wrecked, their traveling companion (and ride to the airport) for this trip bailed on them, sticking them with extra tickets and hotel rooms on their credit card their furnace stopped working because their chimney was full of junk and dead birds�and a bunch of other depressing-assed crap of the sort that ALWAYS happens to them.

Oh�and T�s name change is official�they now have the same last name. I don�t know�it was pretty important to them, I guess.



Spouse and I did some list-making last night, trying to get organized for Saturday. He wants to go to the Meijer on Friday, so we can get their good deli stuff. Papa�s annual �gift of meat� is taking the form of a large ham this year, which P will cook and slice and bring with on the 24th. It�ll just be your basic cold buffet, ham sandwiches, salads, munchies, and some dessert stuff. Nothing fancy.

Spouse is transitioning into his host role a bit more, and has been fretting about the liquor supply. Not fretting enough to actually walk down to the basement and check what we have, though. But I got sick of listening to him fuss last evening, and went down myself, to take inventory. The verdict? �My dear Spouse�you are awash in every conceivable type of hard liquor, and at last count, you have a whopping five people coming, including US. But you need beer. And maybe a bottle of red wine.�

So he�s calmer now.

I wish I was. I don�t even have a clue about tonight�s dinner.




Reading: "Son of a Witch : A Novel", by Gregory Maguire.

Listening: XM, Traditions. Your basic Vic Damone--Burl Ives--Ray Conniff Singers kind of Christmas music.

Beading: Working on a purple ice necklace.

One Year Ago, I lost a favorite earring.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com